Poem: Meant To Be Forgotten

I once heard,
A pen is mightier then a sword,
And you once thought,
You could paint magic with your words.

I believed you,
I let you tear me apart,
Listen to everything you said,
And locked it deep in my heart.

Let you abuse me,
Let you use me,
Let everything you said to me,
Destroy who I thought I could be.

Then it hit me,
Stopped me dead in my tracks,
Like a slap in the face,
More like a pat on the back.

Hit me with your,
Adjectives,
Verbs,
And Nouns.

Swing at me with your,
Metaphors,
Proverbs,
And Paradoxes.

Your words are powerless,
I’m immune to your enchantments,
You can’t ensnare me,
No, I’m better then this.

Hit me with your best shot,
Because if this is all you’ve got,
Deceit and cannot,
You’re meant to be forgotten.

About lowkiespeaks

I am a poetess, a mother-to-be, a pround woman, and stubborn beyound reason. View all posts by lowkiespeaks

Leave a Reply

