I Am A Wildfire

I am a wildfire running free.
I wonder if my daughter will overcome more then I have.
I hear the future rushing toward me.
I see paw prints on the walls.
I want to meet her and kiss her tiny toes.
I am a wildfire running free.

I pretend to be strong.
I feel overly protective of everyone around me.
I touch him in 50 years, because I know he’ll be here.
I worry that she’ll be more like me then her father.
I cry for little lost souls.
I am a wildfire running free.

I understand that those little kicks are just the start.
I say stand beside the choices you make.
I dream about her, about us, and about fireworks.
I try to be everything I was raised to be and more.
I hope she loves me at the end of the day.
I am a wildfire running free.

About lowkiespeaks

I am a poetess, a mother-to-be, a pround woman, and stubborn beyound reason. View all posts by lowkiespeaks

Leave a Reply

