Poem: The Answerphone’s Turned Down

Tonight I am lost inside,
Inside a nightmare I saw every day since age five,
You were gone so far and I couldn’t touch you anymore.

Taken away on the back of a white rabbit,
Flying into wherever it is the most innocent go,
When they can’t be kept safe anymore.

I can scream and scream,
But you’re not going to answer me anymore,
So I lay in the street and cry for your little heart beat.

Startled awake and still crying,
Afraid because I was the one who couldn’t stop you from dying,
Even if I know…

      You’re still alive….

About lowkiespeaks

I am a poetess, a mother-to-be, a pround woman, and stubborn beyound reason. View all posts by lowkiespeaks

Leave a Reply

